Reviews

On this page you can view all the reviews that previous guests have kindly written for us. If you have already stayed at Il Monte, you can write your own review by using the button below.

“Scappati dalla calura di Roma abbiamo trovato refrigerio in questo angolo di paradiso, la sera serviva anche un golfino. La casa di Alison è splendida e dotata di ogni confort. Abbiamo goduto dei fantastici tramonti dal terrazzino del primo piano, sorseggiando un aperitivo. Per le grigliate c'è un barbecue comodissimo e per rilassarsi una fantastica piscina con lettini di ogni genere. Certo, forse il monte è un pochino isolato, ma vi assicuro che una volta arrivati qui non avrete più voglia di uscire.”

“Grazie Alison, la tua casa è meravigliosa e ci rimarrà sempre nel cuore. A presto Claudio”

Claudio

“Grazie Alison, la tua casa è meravigliosa e ci rimarrà sempre nel cuore. A presto Claudio”

Aug 10, 2019

Il Monte is beautiful!

We stayed one week in this cosy house on the top of a hill. The view is magnificent. It was also very quiet, so perfect for a relaxed holiday.

The interior is very new and everything is so clean. A lot of space and a lot to choose with two living rooms (downstairs and upstairs) and five bedrooms. Especially the big bedroom on the highest floor was excellent with also that beautiful view on the hills.

And there is also a nice place on the first floor where you can sit outside.

We enjoyed the big swimming pool. The kids couldn’t get enough of swimming and there were enough beds to rest, to read and to get some sun.

The wifi is very good, also nice to know.

Alison was very helpful in giving us information and getting in touch with her was very easy. We would definitely recommend Il Monte.

All our expectations to stay in a beautiful Umbrian house in the hills came true.

Thank you Alison for a week which we will never forget!”

Fred

Jul 20, 2019

This is an unbelievably place in a tranquil paradise. The house is second to none with quirks and surprises round every corner. Every need is met, from underfloor heating to breath taking views. Highly recommend for a romantic getaway or an extended family gathering.
There is a small town a short drive away, and of course the wonderful Assisi about 40 min away.

Jennifer

2019-03-08

What a wonderful way to spend a long weekend celebrating a friends’ Birthday. Even though there were 10 of us, the unique showers had plenty of hot water for everyone. There was plenty of room to spend time together but also quiet zones if you needed some time on your own. So well thought out, this house is just faultless.

The owners certainly know how to make the house feel comfortable - we didn’t want to leave and will certainly go back to spend more time there. So clean, unique, interesting and beautiful it was just stunning, can’t praise it enough, the photos just don’t do it justice.

Central to some beautiful historic places, its situation is just perfect.

Everywhere we looked there were amazing views of rolling hills and some of us enjoyed walking into the little village with its restaurants, bars and supermarket.

The house encompassed us with warmth from the underfloor heating and wood burning stove, along with the beautiful decor it felt just like home from home.

I can’t wait to return there!!

Jenny

2019-03-08

Just spent a week at this stunning place. A beautiful old character stone farmhouse, which has been renovated and furnished to a very high standard. The house is perched on a hill with breathtaking views over the surrounding countryside. Accommodation is very comfortable, spacious, stylish, but at the same time cosy. A great place to get away from it all, or to explore the surrounding towns and countryside. Can’t wait to go back!

Joanna

2019-03-04

We stayed at Il Monte for a long weekend for a friend’s birthday. It has the ‘wow’ factor and every comfort has been considered, from the amazing wood burner to the Bose music system. The views from every window are far reaching and stunning. We stayed in the tower bedroom and the bed is super comfy with premium quality bedding. All the areas are spacious and the furnishings tasteful and luxurious. Il Monte is everything you’d expect from a top class holiday rental. Can’t wait to go back

Caron

2019-03-09

We stayed at Il Monte in a large group of friends for a birthday celebration. It’s a stunning property set overlooking amazing scenery. Every window has a breathtaking view. We stayed in the tower room and it’s spacious and has everything you need, including 2 wardrobes, sound system, sofa, coffee table and a large very comfortable bed. The rest of the property is simply stunning and top quality. Great showers, lovely wood burner, plenty of parking, spectacular mezzanine level and fully equipped kitchen. We can’t wait to go back.

Ray

2019-03-07

"Escaped from the heat of Rome we found refreshment in this corner of paradise. Alison's house is beautiful and equipped with every comfort. We enjoyed the fantastic sunsets from the terrace on the first floor, sipping an aperitif. For barbecues there is a very comfortable barbecue and for relaxing a fantastic pool with sun beds of all kinds. Of course, maybe the mountain is a little bit isolated, but I assure you that once you get here you will no longer want to go out. "

Claudio

"Thanks Alison, your home is wonderful and will always remain in our hearts. See you soon Claudio "

Aug 10, 2019

Il Monte is a really lovely house in a beautiful setting.

The views are just fabulous, and all the amenities in the house judged just right.

The pool is lovely (we like salt vs chlorine) and the beds around the pool are of very good quality.

The rooms are all very nicely appointed, the water pumps from the water well cope admirably with all the showers. The high end music systems were appreciated (we didn't feel the need to use the high end TV at any point in the week, as iPads entertained the kids instead, being testament to the wifi signal)

There is as an abundance of quality crockery, cooking utensils etc and a pro-kitchen quality BBQ!

The 2 local supermarkets provided everything we needed (but don't expect Waitrose), and we "ate in" a lot, which was great given the nearest alternatives were quite a long drive in terms of time rather than distance, as the roads are winding and rather slow.

Pietralunga is a pretty hillside 'market town' with a few bars and a couple of restaurants (again, if you manage your expectations they're just perfect for the situation. Think pizza and pasta etc.) with fabulous views of the surrounding hills. English is spoken a little, but with a bit of effort and a smile everyone gets there in the end.

The acid test as always.. would we return ? Oh yes, absolutely.”

Patrick

Be aware that the house is at the top of a steepish 2km 'white' road which isn't an issue unless your front wheel drive car is full of luggage and people over the back axle.

Jul 27, 2019

We stayed at Il Monte for a long weekend for a friend’s birthday. It has the ‘wow’ factor and every comfort has been considered, from the amazing wood burner to the Bose music system. The views from every window are far reaching and stunning. We stayed in the tower bedroom and the bed is super comfy with premium quality bedding. All the areas are spacious and the furnishings tasteful and luxurious. Il Monte is everything you’d expect from a top class holiday rental. Can’t wait to go back

Roz

2019-03-08

Just returned from a fab weekend with friends. Alison and Jim having created a truly impressive holiday home. Although we were 13 for one night, we had ample accommodation and the facilities for everyone. The underfloor heating made our arrival cozy and welcoming. Lighting the wood burner made for a magical evening playing cards and music on the Bose system. We had pizzas that we cooked on the huge barbecue one evening washed down with local wine and homemade tiramisu! There’s WiFi everywhere and the kitchen is fully equipped to cater for large crowds like us. This includes ample toilets and bathrooms too. The location is quiet and secluded but still only an hr or so from any number of spectacular towns like Gubbio and Assisi. We didn’t brave the pool (well, it was early March!) but that looked inviting too. Couldn’t recommend Il Monte highly enough

Graham

2019-03-04

Just spent a brilliant weekend at Il Monte with my girlfriend's. The place was breath taking and beautifully decorated but still kept the essence of being warm and cosy with a stunning volted ceiling. It sits on top of a hill with an stunning view of the valley. Sat with a glass of wine to experience an amazing sunset.

Only an hour away we spent a very culteral day out in Assisi.

Definitely recommend a vist to Il Monte we're already organising return trip.

Jaqueline

2019-03-09

Fantastic few days spent at Il Monte. Flew to Perugia airport landing in beautiful countryside, picked up a great value hire car. It’s an easy drive up through mountain roads stopping for the occasional photos. On arriving at the bottom of the drive snatch a glimpse of Il Monte and drive through the pretty little ford. Enjoy the feeling when you enter ...photos just cannot convey this. Beautifully furnished and thoughtfully equipped accommodation. Perfect for enjoying fresh pizzas and other foodie delights you can easily buy including white and black truffles, oils etc on your doorstep in Pietralunga and heavenly chocolate in Gubbio. The local restaurants are great and reasonably priced too if you prefer to eat out. Great places to visit nearby include Assisi and various Roman ruins etc abound. Il Monte guests can take advantage of a 10% reduced rate at a local Spa. I can see why this has been negotiated.. it’s one of the best and most stylish spas I’ve visited. Enjoy an Aperol there surrounded by beautiful artwork. It’s always great to get back to Il Monte though... your own piece of Umbria for your stay. I’d definitely go back and stay at Il Monte.

Rachel

The host is very helpful, approachable and quick to respond.

2019-03-08

Best place I’ve ever stayed in - highly recommend it clean, warm, cosy and stunning

Lynn

An interesting house in an interesting area

2019-03-08

  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle

Il Monte, Vocabolo Caimarabissi, 06026 Pietralunga PG, Italy

© Il Monte MMXIX